CANTALOUPE - Zoetrope (LP + download)

Nottingham-based synth/guitar/drums quartet Cantaloupe released their debut 10 track album Zoetrope on limited edition 12” vinyl and digital download through Hello Thor Records on Monday 16 March 2015.

Hello Thor first fell in love with Cantaloupe and their electronic pop music when they played an exhilarating set for us in a shopping arcade, shut down after 12 minutes by an angry autograph seller. We took our relationship to the next level with the release of their debut single, the 4 track Teapot EP, in 2012, which was picked up by Gideon Coe (BBC 6 Music) and Huw Stephens (Radio 1).

In 2013, we got down on one knee and asked them to put out a 12” with us. Sure, the proposal might have come after a wine or two, but once we’d sobered up we realised we still meant it. Phew. The euphoric Krautrock boogie of Splish/Wet Dog did not disappoint, arriving complete with a shimmering remix by Wax Stag and again being trumpeted across the airwaves (“I love that record - it‘s just so happy and joyous” Huw Stephens).

Then, after a year of recording and playing live - including a well-loved set at Liverpool Psych Fest in 2014 – spring 2015 saw the arrival of Zoetrope: a collection of 10 lush, effervescent, endlessly inventive and oddly reflective pop songs, including Cantaloupe’s first non-instrumental tracks (featuring the vocal talents of Eleanor Lee and Tom A.D).

Zoetrope shows off Cantaloupe’s full gamut of swirling sound and emotion - from the groovy hedonism of opener Big Kiss to the swish synthpop of Indigo; from the unyielding hands-in-the-air hardcore of live favourite 0891 50 50 50 to the queasy, introspective, haunting melodicism of Labour and Love. We’re never entirely sure what exactly it is that Cantaloupe do, but we know it makes us feel a bit sexy, like punching the air and GLAD TO BE ALIVE.

For fans of: Stereolab, The Human League, Tortoise, Kraftwerk, Patrick Cowley, Harmonia, Holy Fuck, K. Frimpong, Daft Punk, Giorgio Moroder, S.E. Rogie, Battles, Quack Quack, Air, theme tunes to 70s cop shows, punching the air, chat-lines.

"If you want some life-affirming, full throttle throbbing synth madness in your life too, you need to get on the Cantaloupe bus ASAP." Louder Than War

"...eleven songs bulging with ideas born of their wonderful imaginations, crafted through expert execution and musicianship and bristling with their delightful dreams to colour the modern day drudge. It is proof positive that dance music need not be generic or formulaic, it need not narrow down the possibilities but can open the mind and broaden the canvas. It is a live sounding album that brings to life the genres that they love but never sounds burdened by them as it surfs the gamut of electro pop, krautrock and afro-pop, enlivening each one’s spirit with a modernity and a bold personality." God Is In The TV Zine

Zoetrope is produced by Peter Fletcher (Escapologists, Seachange, Kagoule, Kogumaza).

Cantaloupe is Aaron Doyle (drums), Eleanor Lee (synth/vocals), John Simson (synths) & David Stockwell (guitars).

1. Big Kiss
2. Ambition
3. Indigo
4. Zoetrope
5. Gustave
6. 0891 50 50 50
7. Clam City
8. Labour & Love
9. Holy Cow!
10. Ian Whitehead

The album comes with free download codes (and immediate download of Big Kiss).

All Cantaloupe releases also now come with a free download of the 13 track remix album Recent Papal Ooze Out, featuring remixes by Kogumaza, Moonbabies, Forever Sound, CJ Mirra, Larry Crywater, Blunt Mountains, Jed Skinner, Prickly P, Moscow Youth Cult and Chrononautz